什么是御宅文化?

御宅文化在短短几十年间征服了全世界。它已成为日本文化光芒的主要组成部分之一。尽管取得了如此巨大的成功,但很少有人能够清楚地界定这个新名词的轮廓,以及促使世界各地的人们采用日本流行文化作为重要组成部分的生活方式的原因。因此,我撰写了这篇文章,尽可能多地介绍这一主题。

这篇文章涵盖了您对御宅文化提出的大部分问题。文章很长。J'ai créé cette table de matière pour vous aider à naviguer à l'intérieur de ce texte.如果您的问题没有在本页找到答案,请不要犹豫,在文章末尾写下您的评论,我们会尽快给您答复(如果我愿意的话)。

御宅族 "的定义

"御宅族 "来源于日语中的一个(相当过时的)敬语,可以指代一个家庭或家族。推而广之,它也可用作第二人称单数或复数代词。

如今,"御宅族 "一词的定义已经完全改变。现在,"御宅族 "一词被用来指代那些痴迷于流行文化中某一特定部分的人。这些人的注意力主要集中在漫画、动画和电子游戏等媒体上。简而言之,就是主要在家里进行的活动。

1983 年,该词首次被使用,并沿用至今。第一次公开使用这个词的是记者 Akio Nakamori,他在《Manga Burikko》(一本hentai杂志)上发表了一篇文章。但事实证明,这个词早已被漫画迷们私下使用。

御宅族 "日语怎么拼?

词义的变化也影响了它的书写。这个敬称代词过去被写成 "お宅",宅字的意思是 "房子"。新的定义主要是用 "かんな"(日语注音字符)书写的。因此,我们得到了两种新的转写:

  • 平假名中的おたく。
  • 片假名为 オタク。

最后两个版本之间没有任何区别。因此,它们完全可以互换。

一个从多种语言中借用的词

这个源于日语的词在网络上经常被其他语言(包括英语和法语)的使用者使用。在大多数这些语言中,"御宅族"(otaku)这个概念都没有真正的对应词,这就解释了这种几乎是系统性的借用。

与之最接近的英语词汇是 "geek"、"nerd "或 "anorak"(后者仅用于英国)。至于西班牙语使用者,他们有时会用 "friki "一词来指有强迫症的人。

尽管 "御宅族 "一词经常在论坛上使用,偶尔也会被记者使用,但其定义并不明确。因此,"御宅族 "一词既可以被 "御宅族 "运动的参与者正面使用,也可以被 "御宅族 "运动的反对者贬义使用。

宅男的生活是什么样的?

御宅族并没有遁世在家的刻板印象,他们的爱好可以在室内实现。这意味着他们可以把大部分空闲时间花在家里,而不会感到无聊。

御宅族们最喜欢的活动总是与文化有关,因为他们最喜欢的媒体是(日本)电子游戏、动漫或音乐。御宅族们不仅在业余时间消费这些产品,还会抽出时间了解即将推出的文化产品和新发行产品的评论。

最狂热的收藏者可能会花上几个小时,在专业网站和零售店上寻找可以为他们的宝藏添砖加瓦的产品。

御宅族社区

无论他们的个人资料如何,都能保证在小众论坛上找到他们感兴趣的信息。有许多子论坛专门讨论与御宅文化相关的话题。

尽管御宅族的大部分活动都可以在家里进行,但这并不一定意味着他们没有真正的社会关系。事实上,在日本和世界其他地方有许多活动都反映了这种文化。这些活动包括东京的 Comiket、巴黎的 日本世博会在某种程度上,圣地亚哥的 Comi-Con.这些聚会是御宅族与其他入门者和普通人分享激情的时刻。

一群业余摄影师在 Comiket 上拍摄一名角色扮演者。照片由 Bastien Mosur 为 Nipponrama 拍摄。

这使他们有别于日本的另一种现象--蛰居族,即长期把自己关在房间里的人。这些受害者通常消费相同类型的文化产品。这就是为什么这两个描述完全不同特征的术语会被混淆的原因。

御宅族的主要爱好

正如我们前面所说,"御宅族 "一词的定义并不明确。这就是为什么没有典型的御宅族特征。御宅族现象包括对媒体的不同痴迷,而这些痴迷彼此毫无关系。

要列出所有驱动御宅族的激情似乎是不可能完成的任务。这就是为什么我在本节中只关注最受欢迎的媒体。如果您愿意,我邀请您给本文留言,为这份清单添砖加瓦。

动漫

最初,"御宅族 "一词专指最顽固的漫画及其改编动画的粉丝。时至今日,情况依然如此。漫画产业经常与御宅文化联系在一起,并通过粉丝服务和衍生产品为其提供养料。

许多御宅族组成爱好者圈子,制作以自己喜爱的宇宙为灵感的作品。这些团体被称为 "同人"。他们定期在 "同人 "大会上展示自己的作品,其中最著名的是东京的 Comiket。

这些粉丝圈子还催生了以流行作品为灵感的 "hentai"、色情或情色漫画和轻小说。同人小说在同一部漫画或不同系列的人物之间发展浪漫关系。这些恋情可以是同性恋,在这种情况下,作品被归类为 Yaoi(男同性恋)和 Yuri(女同性恋)类型。

有些御宅族患有 "Nijikon "症。他们对动漫人物的视觉和情感吸引力大于对真人的吸引力。

电子游戏

与漫画一样,电子游戏也是日本御宅族最喜爱的活动之一。事实上,许多电子游戏系列的灵感都来自动漫,尤其是典型的日本游戏类型。例如,J-RPG 和格斗游戏的角色设计灵感往往来自漫画。

日本的城市里也遍布街机厅。这里是铁杆玩家沉迷电子游戏的聚集地。经常可以看到游戏玩家整天在街机终端上努力争取满分。

偶像

在国外,日本流行音乐最著名的是由数十名年轻女孩组成的偶像团体。尽管 J-Pop 并不局限于这一类型,但一些御宅族却痴迷于这种组合。

AKB48 是一个典型的淡化偶像团体,数以万计的日本人痴迷于她们单调乏味的生活。最勤奋的粉丝通过收听和关注这些(非常)年轻歌手的生活来逃避日常生活。

角色扮演

Cosplay 通常与御宅族文化等同,因为它的灵感往往来自于这个群体中流行的日本作品。御宅族大会是 Cosplay 表演者展示其作品并赢得原版粉丝认可的最佳机会。

好东西

拥有上述媒体版权的公司已经意识到,提供各种衍生产品符合他们的利益。毕竟,许多御宅族会通过收集从他们喜爱的系列中汲取灵感的物品来满足自己的痴迷。这些收藏侵占了他们的生活空间也是常有的事。你可以很容易地在网上找到被成堆的好东西淹没的御宅族卧室的照片。

这些产品有多种形式。最常见的是代表漫画或电子游戏角色的公仔。但这些媒体也有服装、毛绒玩具、徽章等形式。

拥有 "Nijikon "的御宅族会在他们的莳萝(dakimakura)上画上自己的 "waifu"(最喜欢的角色)。这些物件是巨大的枕头,上面铺着代表他们最喜欢角色的毯子。

偶像粉丝通常会求助于影集或交易卡。日本流行音乐产业则推陈出新,推出带有多个封面的单曲或专辑。这种做法尤其有利可图,因为许多粉丝会购买复制品。其中一份是用来使用的,而另一份则永远保存在原包装中。

秋叶原,御宅族的天堂

秋叶原(Akihabara)是东京的一个地区,因满足动漫、电子游戏和偶像爱好者的梦想而为所有御宅族所熟知。除了电脑专卖店,秋叶原车站周围还有许多出售动漫和电子游戏产品的摊位,以及商场和女仆咖啡馆。

日本流行音乐组合 AKB48 的名字就来源于这个地区,因为这些著名的偶像们就是在 "秋叶 "这个专门为她们开设的剧场里举办演唱会的。

东京秋叶原的主要街道。Michaël da Silva Paternoster 为 Nipponrama 拍摄的照片。

在这个独特的东京街区,可以找到各种类型的御宅族。因此,这里是所有日本流行文化爱好者不可错过的旅游胜地。

如何成为御宅族?

和其他事情一样,御宅族不是天生的,而是后天形成的。有无数种可能的途径让你成为我们上面列出的痴迷者之一。但并不是每个人都有同样的机会成为御宅族。事实上,有几种先天条件。

接触日本文化

首先,不可否认的是,当你身在日本时,你更容易陷入这个世界。即使漫画产业并不像一些外国人幻想的那样遍布大街小巷,日本的大众文化也不可避免地比其他地方更容易接触到。

但并不是所有的御宅族都是日本人。日本漫画和电子游戏俘获了全世界粉丝的心。日本文化在国际上的传播并非在每个国家都一样。

法国案例

在我的祖国法国,日本动画片很快出现在国家电视频道的节目表上。上世纪 70 年代末,我的父母就已经在他们的阴极射线电视机上收看《UFO 机器人 Grendizer》(法国称作 "Goldorak")或《哈洛克船长》(法国称作 "Albator")等日本连续剧了。上世纪 90 年代,我的青春时光被如今已成为传奇的法国电视频道播放的众多动漫节目所沉醉。 多萝西俱乐部 早间节目。多亏了这个节目,我才发现了《龙珠》、《美少女战士》和《北斗神拳》。

巴黎,以 UFO 机器人 Grendizer 机器为主题的标签。照片由 Sunny Ripert 提供。

法国之所以成为仅次于日本的世界第二大漫画消费国,早期在电视上播放日本作品无疑是主要原因之一。

感谢互联网

更广泛地说,互联网在传播日本流行文化方面发挥了重要作用。在论坛、Facebook 群组和分享网站上涌现出众多国际粉丝社区。这些粉丝成功地让外行人了解了日本的 JPOP、视频游戏和动画。

2000 年代是网络盗版的黄金时代。由于 fansubs(将日本作品翻译成其他语言的粉丝团体)的工作,分享动漫、日剧或漫画扫描件变得非常容易。

合法流媒体平台与大众娱乐

近年来,Netflix、Amazon Prime 和 Crunchyroll 等合法流媒体平台促进了日本文化在许多国家的民主化。其中一些网络巨头甚至开始制作受日本流行文化启发的作品。例如,Netflix 制作了《卡斯尔凡尼亚》等动画片和《露台之家》等真人秀节目。

日本的节目从未如此容易获得。正如在法国一样,正是这种世界范围内的可访问性解释了御宅文化在日本境外的兴起。

全球青少年心中的日本漫画和动画

大多数外国御宅族都是在青少年时期对日本文化产生兴趣的。其主要原因是漫画出版商针对这一年龄段的读者提供了种类繁多的作品。

奇怪的是,与这个年龄段的人口数量相比,针对这个年龄段的西方电视节目、书籍或漫画却相对较少。

Shonen" 和 "Shojo" 风格的漫画(和日本动画片)讲述的是十几岁的男孩和女孩的故事。它们讲述了青少年在试图了解自己在世界上的位置时所面临的问题。

日本电子游戏,所有人都能进入的大门

电子游戏是许多青少年喜爱的另一项活动,也是由众多日本公司主导的行业。任天堂、索尼和世嘉生产的电子游戏机最受欢迎。

秋叶原一家出售古董电子游戏机的商店。摄影:Michaël da Silva Paternoster for Nipponrama。

此外,包括 Square-Enix、Konami 和 Capcom 在内的许多日本发行商都在这些机器上制作了成功的系列游戏,其中一些游戏的风格在世界上绝无仅有,如格斗游戏、节奏游戏或 J-RPG 游戏。

因此,我很自然地将电子游戏世界视为通往御宅文化乃至整个日本文化的主要途径之一。无论如何,我就是这样开始熟悉日本的。

"宅男 "和 "宅女 "的区别

小熊,也被称为 kikoojap迷恋日本和日本文化的人。这些人将日本理想化,甚至怀疑自己的文化身份。

对于针对日本的批评,即使有理有据,"菊人 "也往往首先发难。然而,他们的态度往往基于流行的日本作品所传达的刻板印象。

并不是所有的御宅族都持有这些态度。至少,御宅族并不是由这些态度定义的,他们不一定对自己喜爱的媒体以外的日本感兴趣。即便如此,也没有什么能阻止一个人既是 "weeaboo "又是 "御宅族"。

我希望这篇关于御宅族及其文化的文章能够解答您在这方面的所有问题。如果没有,或者您认为文中有错误,请随时留言。我会尽快回复您!

    评论已关闭

    2015-2024 © Nipponrama。保留所有权利。

What is Otaku culture?

Otaku culture has conquered the world in just a few decades. It has become one of the main components of Japan’s cultural radiance. Despite this resounding success, few people are able to clearly define the contours of this neologism and the reasons that drive individuals from all over the world to adopt a lifestyle in which Japanese popular culture plays an important part. That’s why I’ve written this article, in which I cover as much of the subject as I can.

Cet article couvre la plupart des questions que vous pouvez vous poser sur la culture otaku. Il est donc très long. J’ai créé cette table de matière pour vous aider à naviguer à l’intérieur de ce texte. Si votre question n’est pas abordée sur cette page, n’hésitez pas à écrire un commentaire à la fin de l’article, je tacherai d’y répondre (si je le peux).

Definition of “otaku”

“Otaku” comes from a (rather outdated) Japanese honorific term that could qualify a household or family. By extension, it can also be used as a second-person singular or plural pronoun.

Today, the definition of the word “Otaku” has totally changed. The term is now used to designate people who tend to have an obsession with a specific part of popular culture. The preoccupations of these individuals are mainly focused on media such as manga, anime and video games. In short, activities that are mainly carried out at home.

The term was first used in the sense in which it is still used today, in 1983. It was journalist Akio Nakamori who first used it publicly in an article for Manga Burikko, a hentai magazine. But it turns out that the term was already being used privately by manga fans.

How do you spell “otaku” in Japanese?

The change in the word’s meaning also had an impact on its written transcription. The honorific pronoun used to be written “お宅” with the character 宅 meaning “house”. The new definition is mostly written with kanas, the Japanese phonetic characters. Thus, we obtain two new transcriptions:

  • おたく in hiragana.
  • オタク in katakana.

There are no differences between the last two versions. They are therefore totally interchangeable.

A word borrowed from many languages

This word of Japanese origin is commonly used on the web by speakers of other languages, including English and French. The concept of otaku has no real equivalent in most of these languages, which explains this almost systematic borrowing.

The closest terms in English are “geek”, “nerd” or “anorak” (the latter is only used in Great Britain). As for Spanish speakers, they sometimes use the word “friki” to designate people with obsessive passions.

Despite the fact that the word “otaku” is often used on forums and occasionally by journalists, its definition is not clearly established. As a result, the term can be used both positively by those who belong to the movement, and pejoratively by its detractors.

What’s life like for an otaku?

Without going into the stereotypes of the recluse at home, the otaku has passions that can be realized indoors. This means they can spend a large part of their free time at home without getting bored.

Otakus’ favorite activities always have a cultural aspect, since the media they enjoy most are (Japanese) video games, anime and manga, or music.Not only do otakus consume these products in their spare time, they also take time out to learn about upcoming cultural products and reviews of new releases.

The most avid collectors can spend hours searching for products to add to their treasures on specialized websites and retail outlets.

Otaku communities

Whatever their profile, they’re guaranteed to find information of interest to them on niche forums. There are many subreddits dedicated to topics related to otaku culture.

Even if most of the activities performed by an otaku can be carried out at home, this doesn’t necessarily mean that this type of individual has no real social relationships. In fact, there are many events in Japan and the rest of the world that reflect this culture. These include conventions such as Tokyo’s Comiket, Paris’ Japan Expo, and to some extent San Diego’s Comi-Con. These gatherings are moments when otakus can share their passions with other initiates and laymen alike.

A group of amateur photographers capture a cosplayer at Comiket. Photo by Bastien Mosur for Nipponrama.

This differentiates them from hikikomori, another Japanese phenomenon, where people cloister themselves in their rooms for very long periods. These victims often consume the same types of cultural products. This explains the confusion between these two terms, which describe totally different profiles.

The main passions of otakus

As we said earlier, the definition of the term “otaku” is not clearly defined. That’s why there’s no such thing as a typical otaku profile. The otaku phenomenon encompasses very different obsessions with media that have nothing to do with each other.

Making a list of all the passions that drive otakus seems an impossible mission. That’s why I’m only focusing on the most popular media in this section. I invite you to add to this list, if you wish, by leaving a comment to this article.

Anime and Manga

When it was first coined, the term “Otaku” specifically referred to the most obstinate fans of manga and their anime adaptations. This is still the case today. The manga industry is regularly linked to otaku culture, which it feeds with fan service and derivative products.

Many otakus form fan circles to produce works inspired by their favorite universes. These groups are called “Doujin”. They regularly present their work at “doujinshi” conventions, the best-known of which is Tokyo’s Comiket.

These fan circles also feed the shelves of hentai, erotic or pornographic manga and light novels inspired by popular works. Doujins develop romantic relationships between characters from the same manga or from different series. These romances can be homosexual, in which case the works are categorized in the Yaoi (gay) and Yuri (lesbian) genres.

Some otakus suffer from “Nijikon”. They have more visual and sentimental attraction to anime and manga characters than to physical people.

Video games

Like manga, video games are among the favorite activities of otakus in Japan. In fact, many video game series are inspired by anime, particularly in the typically Japanese game genres. For example, the character designs of J-RPGs and fighting games are often inspired by manga.

Japanese cities are also overrun with arcades. These are meeting places for hardcore gamers to indulge their addiction to video games. It’s not uncommon to see gamers spending their days on arcade terminals trying to achieve perfect scores.

Idols

Abroad, Japanese popular music is best known for its idol groups made up of dozens of young girls. Even if J-Pop isn’t limited to this genre, it’s this type of formation that some otakus obsessively admire.

AKB48 is the archetypal watered-down idol group that obsesses tens of thousands of Japanese people with their often monotonous lives. The most assiduous fans escape their daily lives by listening to and following the lives of these (very) young singers.

Cosplay

Cosplay is regularly equated with otaku culture, since it is often inspired by Japanese works popular within this community. Otaku conventions are the best opportunity for cosplayers to show off their work and win the approval of fans of the original licenses.

Goodies

The companies that own the rights to the above-mentioned media have realized that it’s in their interest to offer a wide range of derivative products. After all, many otakus indulge their obsessions by collecting objects inspired by their favorite series. It’s not uncommon for these collections to invade their living spaces. You can easily find photos of otaku bedrooms overwhelmed by piles of goodies on the web.

These products can take many forms. Figurines representing manga or video game characters are the most common. But these media are also available in the form of clothing, plush toys, pins, etc.

Otakus with Nijikon have their “waifu” (favorite character) on their dakimakura. These objects are giant pillows adorned with a blanket representing their favorite character.

Idol fans often turn to photobooks or trading cards. The J-Pop industry pushes the envelope by offering singles or albums with multiple covers. This is particularly profitable as many fans buy duplicate products. One copy is intended to be used, while the other will remain in its original packaging forever.

Akihabara, otaku paradise

Akihabara is a district of Tokyo known to all otakus for fulfilling the dreams of anime, video game and idol fans. In addition to specialized computer stores, the area around Akihabara station is home to numerous stalls selling anime and video game goodies, as well as arcades and maid cafés.

The JPop group AKB48 takes its name from this district, as it is in “Akiba” that the famous idols give concerts in a theater totally dedicated to them.

The main street of Akihabara, Tokyo. Photo by Michaël da Silva Paternoster for Nipponrama.

All types of otakus can be found in this unique Tokyo neighborhood. This makes it an unmissable tourist destination for all fans of Japanese popular culture.

How do you become an otaku?

As with everything else, you’re not born an otaku, you become one. There are an infinite number of possible paths to falling into one of the obsessions we’ve listed above. But not everyone has the same chance of becoming an otaku. In fact, there are several predispositions.

Access to Japanese culture

To begin with, it’s undeniably easier to fall into this universe when you’re in Japan. Even if the manga industry isn’t on every street corner, as some foreigners fantasize, Japanese popular culture is inevitably more accessible in Japan than elsewhere.

But not all otakus are Japanese. Japanese manga and video games have captured the hearts of fans the world over. The spread of Japanese culture internationally has not been the same in every country.

The French case

In my native France, Japanese cartoons very quickly appeared on the schedules of national TV channels. At the end of the 70s, my parents were already watching Japanese series such as UFO Robot Grendizer (called “Goldorak” in France) or Captain Harlock (“Albator” in French) on their cathode-ray TV sets. In the 90s, my youth was lulled by the many anime shows broadcast on the now legendary Club Dorothée morning show. It was thanks to this program that I discovered Dragon Ball, Sailor Moon and Hokuto no Ken.

A tag featuring the main UFO Robot Grendizer mecha in Paris. Photo by Sunny Ripert.

This early broadcasting of Japanese works on TV is certainly one of the main reasons why France is now the world’s second biggest consumer of manga, behind Japan.

Thanks Internet

More generally, the Internet has played a major role in the spread of Japanese popular culture. Numerous international fan communities have sprung up on forums, Facebook groups and sharing sites. These fans succeeded in converting laymen to Japanese JPop, video games and animation.

The 2000s were the golden age of online piracy. It was very easy to share anime, Japanese dramas or manga scans, thanks to the work of fansubs, fan groups that translated Japanese works into other languages.

Legal streaming platforms and mass entertainment

In recent years, legal streaming platforms such as Netflix, Amazon Prime and Crunchyroll have facilitated the democratization of Japanese culture in many countries. Some of these web giants are even beginning to produce works inspired by Japanese pop culture. Netflix, for example, produces animated series like Castelvania and reality shows like Terrace House.

Japanese programs have never been so easily accessible. As in France, it’s this worldwide accessibility that explains the rise of Otaku culture beyond Japan’s borders.

Japanese manga and anime in the hearts of teenagers worldwide

Most foreign otakus become interested in Japanese culture when they are teenagers. The main reason for this is that manga publishers offer a wide range of works aimed at this age group.

Strangely enough, there are relatively few Western TV programs, books or comics aimed at this age group, compared to the size of this population.

The “Shonen” and “Shojo” styles of manga (and Japanese anime) tell stories about boys and girls in their teens. They deal with the problems faced by teenagers trying to understand their place in the world.

Japanese video games, a gateway accessible to all

Video games, another activity enjoyed by many teenagers, is a sector dominated by numerous Japanese companies. Nintendo, Sony and Sega produce the most popular video game consoles.

A store selling vintage video games in Akihabara.Photo by Michaël da Silva Paternoster for Nipponrama.

In addition, many Japanese publishers, including Square-Enix, Konami and Capcom, have produced successful series on each of these machines.Some of their games feature styles found nowhere else in the world, such as fighting games, rhythm games or J-RPGs.

So it’s only natural to consider the world of video games as one of the main gateways to otaku culture, and even Japanese culture in general. In any case, this is how I began to familiarize myself with Japan.

The differences between a weeaboo and an otaku

A weeaboo, also known as a kikoojap, is a person with an obsession for Japan and Japanese culture. These people idealize Japan to the point of questioning their own cultural identity.

Kikoojap are often the first to take offense at criticism directed at Japan, even when it is justified. Yet their attitude is often based on stereotypes conveyed by popular Japanese works.

Not all otakus share these attitudes. At least, they don’t define the otaku, who doesn’t necessarily have any interest in Japan outside the media he loves. Even so, there’s nothing to stop an individual from being both weeaboo and otaku.

I hope this article on otakus and their culture(s) has answered all your questions on the subject. If it hasn’t, or if you think an error has crept into this text, don’t hesitate to leave a comment. I’ll get back to you!

    Comments are closed

    2015-2024 © Nipponrama. All Rights Reserved.